1st AIUB Inter University Public Speaking Competition-2009

As a continuation to the success of organizing three national events, American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB) has taken the initiatives to arrange the 1st AIUB Inter University Public Speaking Competition-2009. This was an exclusive event in two categories- Bangla and English. The initial rounds of the competition were held on the 19th July, 2009 where 17 Universities in Bangla category and 16 Universities in the English category took part. The total number of participant was 67. The final round of the competition was held on the 22nd July, 2009, where the chosen speakers from the initial round spoke for championship. The chief guest of the ceremony was Dr. Anwar Hossain, Honb’l Pro Vice Chancellor of American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB). Among others Mr. AKM Shoaib, Chairman, National Debate Federation –Bangladesh, Mr. Manzur H Khan, Coordinator, Office of student Affairs and Ms. Silverine, Lecturer, American International University- Bangladesh were also present.
The topics of the Bangla and the English debate in the final round were “Chaini Tobou… Chaichi Ekhon” and “If I Dream Again…..” respectively. After two hours of battle of words and ideas the event came to an end and the adjudicators were ready with their results. But the challenge facing the adjudicators was really a hard one because the quality of the participants was remarkable. However after much difficulty they announced the names of the winners in both English and Bangla category simultaneously. The winners in English debate category were: 
1st Sakib Bin Kamal (AIUB)
2nd Rishad Sharif (IUT)
3rd Kazi Tuney (Brac) And the winners in Bangla Category were:
1st Tanjim Ferdous (Brac)
2ndASM Akramul Huda (AIUB)
3rd Sharifa Shabnam (Jahangir Nagar University) AIUB has all along been very keen to augment the oratory and debating skills of the students. This event is another milestone in this regards. It is worth mentioning here that the winners were chosen from a long list of participants from 17 Universities including AIUB. The lists of the participating Universities are as follows:
  1. BRAC University
  2. Jahangir Nagar University
  3. Jagannath University
  4. Stamford University
  5. Daffodil University
  6. BUET
  7. Dhaka University
  8. Islamic University of Technology
  9. Independent University, Bangladesh
  10. North South University
  11. Southeast University
  12. East West University
  13. Holy Family Medical College
  14. London School of Commerce (Dhaka Campus)
  15. United International University
  16. Sohorowardi Medical College
  17. American International University-Bangladesh
More Picture...