The Department of Marketing, Faculty of Business Administration organized a competitive event based on new product idea generation & development of marketing strategies entitled ‘SPEED Presents AIUB Marketing Masterminds 2019’ on July 11, 2019 (Thursday). The objective of the event was to improve the analytical capabilities of the students and to offer a prospect where they can exercise their marketing acquaintance by participating in different creative tasks.  

It was a daylong affair divided into 3 different rounds where students from the different ‘Marketing Major’ courses and ‘Marketing Management’ sections partook. The event was sponsored and supported by AKIJ Food and Beverage Limited (AFBL), under their brand ‘SPEED Energy Drink’. The first round was Idea Generation which included product category selection, proposing a brand name, designing the brand logo, developing the brand slogan, and proposing the Unique Selling Proposition (USP) for the opted product category. Approximately, 50 groups of 4 members participated in this round. The second round was the Development of a Print Advertisement where selected 19 groups from the first round were tasked to develop a launching print advertisement with promotional offers for their respective products. And the final round was Presentation on the Marketing and Brand Development Strategy where selected 6 groups from the previous round had to develop and present their plan regarding the marketing strategies and commercialize their proposed products to the market.

The program was officially inaugurated at 11:30 am by Prof. Dr. Charles C. Villanueva, Vice President (Academics) & Dean, FBA, Prof. Dr. Tazul Islam, Dean, FASS, Prof. Dr. Nisar Ahmed, Director, Graduate Program, FBA, Mr. Asif Parvez, Deputy Registrar along with the Faculty Members from the Department of Marketing, all the participating students, and officials from AKIJ Food and Beverage Limited were present at Annex # 2, Level # 2 (Lobby Area). After the inaugural session, the first round’s results were avowed, and the top 19 groups were selected.

In the presence of Ms. Farheen Hassan, Director, Undergraduate Program, FBA, Heads of the Different Departments, FBA Program, Faculty Members from the Department of Marketing, and all second round participants, the results were declared at 02:00 pm at Annex # 2, Level # 2 (Lobby Area) and eventually the top 6 groups were selected as the finalists. The final round presentation was held at the AIUB Multipurpose Hall, Annex # 7. After a comprehensive panel judgment and on the basis of cumulative scores of the different rounds the Champion, 1st Runner Up and 2nd Runner Up groups were adjudicated as the winners.

At the closing event, Prof. Dr. Charles C. Villanueva, Mr. Md. Maidul Islam, Assistant General Manager, Brand & Marketing, AFBL, Mr. Muntasir Mamun, Assistant Brand Manager, AFBL (Alumnus of Department of Marketing, FBA, AIUB), officials of AFBL along with the Faculty members from the Department of Marketing and other Departments were present. They presented trophies, crests and certificates of recognition to the Champions, Runner Ups, and all the finalists.

The event was initiated and organized by Mr. Hamidul Islam, and Mr. Stanley Rodrick, Senior Assistant Professors, Department of Marketing with direct coordination and supervision of Dr. Khondaker Sazzadul Karim, Head, Department of Marketing. All the faculty members from the Department of Marketing; Mr. Soumendra Sankar Das, Mr. A.K.M. Kamrul Haque, Dr. Md. Khalid Amin, Dr. Sahin Akter Sarker, Dr. Partha Prasad Chowdhury, Ms. Yesmin Sultana, Ms. Tahsina Khan, Mr. Saihad Shahid Rahman, Mr. Shafkat Reza Chowdhury, Mr. Mahmudul Hassan and Ms. Tahsin Wara Khondker coordinated and supported in organizing the event and judging the participants in the different rounds. The Department of Marketing, FBA would also like to thank Mr. Manzur H. Khan, Director, Office of Student Affairs (OSA), AIUB and all the members of OSA, AIUB and AIUB Administration to provide all types of administrative and logistical support in arranging and successfully conclude this mega event.

The winners of the event are listed below:




Khan, Jaed Al Nabian - ID: 18-36288-1

Limon, Md Arman Hasan – ID: 16-32913-3

Islam, Md. Rafidul – ID: 17-34578-2

Fahim, Sk Farhan – ID: 18-36198-1

Supta, Amrin Sultana – ID: 17-33847-1

Eram, Md. Saadat – ID: 17-35206-2

Zamiur, Md. – ID: 18-36139-1

Imtiaz, Alam – ID: 16-32838-3

Bhuyan, Sabbir – ID: 17-34740-2

Rahman, Md. Atikur – ID: 18-36127-1

Liza, Saiyada Mosharrat Jahan – ID: 17-35790-3

Sulogna, Farisha Isaba -17-35023-2

 Brand: “CRISP” Chips

Brand: “AloeFresh” Aloevera Pistachio Milk

Brand: “Daab er Pani” Fruit Drink

As a sign of gratitude and  appreciation to the top management of the university for the support it has extended in making  the event successful, the AKIZ Food and Beverage Limited manufacturer of the famous SPEED Energy Drink, major sponsor presented a Plaque of Appreciation each to Dr. Carmen Z. Lamagna, Vice Chancellor and Dr. Hasanul A. Hasan, Founder Member, Treasurer & Vice President HR, Admin & Center for Technology & Continuing Development.

Post Title Post Title Post Title Post Title Post Title Post Title